USA ELECTS – a blog about US elections


pueto-rico-125x100Population: 3,474,182 (2015)

Filing deadline: December, 2015.

Primary: June 5, 2016.


The island of Puerto Rico became American in 1898, and is a Commonwealth with a large degree of autonomy. It has two large parties; PNP, which supports statehood and is loosely associated with the GOP, but also has Democrats, and PPD, which wishes to maintain the Commonwealth status and has a stronger affiliation with the Democratic Party.


Puerto Rico elects a non-voting Resident Commissioner to the House. The Commissioner is elected to 4-year terms in Presidential election years. Puerto Rico does not participate in Presidential elections, but sends delegates to the conventions.

Pedro Pierlusi. (Pic: Congress)

Pedro Pierlusi. (Pic: Congress)

Representative: Pedro Pierluisi (PNP)
Committees: Judiciary and Natural Resources.

PPD nominee: Hector Ferrer
PNP nominee: Jenniffer Gonzalez

Rating, May 23, 2016:
Leans PNP in 2016.

Status, Sep 1, 2016:
Lawyer and AG Pedro Pierluisi (b.1959) was first elected in 2008 and barely re-elected in 2012, with 48%. In DC, he caucuses with the Democrats. He is running for Governor this year. The PNP is running lawyer and former Speaker of the Commonwealth House, Jenniffer Gonzalez. The PPD is running lawyer and former Party Chair and Commonwealth Representative Hector Ferrer.

News about this office.


Alejandro Garcia Padilla. (Pic: CMT of PR)

Alejandro Garcia Padilla. (Pic: CMT of PR)

Governor: Ale­jandro Garcia Padilla (PPD)

PPD nomineeDavid Bernier
PNP nominee: Ricky Rossello

Rating, May 23, 2016:
Leans PNP in 2016.

Status, May 23, 2016:
Lawyer Ale­jandro Garcia Padilla (b.1971) defeated the incumbent PNP/GOP governor in 2012, with 48% and a razor thin margin. Due to the island’s precarious financial situation, he is not running for re-election in 2016. The PPD is instead running former SoS and President of Puerto Rico’s Olympic Committee, David Bernier. The PNP nominated scientist Ricky Rossello, who is the son of a former Governor.

News about this office.

Commonwealth Senate: 27 (PPD 18 / PNP 8 / 1 I). Term: 4 years. Elections in 2016.
Commonwealth House: 51 (28 PPD / 23 PNP). Term: 4 years. Elections in 2016.


Create a free website or blog at